jump to navigation

If I Could Speak to Jesus the Man October 22, 2009

Posted by jetson in Personal.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

I think it would be awesome to have a face-to-face conversation with the man named Jesus. I’ve always imagined him to be a down-to-earth, easy going, liberal type of person, totally tolerant of everyone, never passing judgment, and easy to talk to. At least that’s what I think he would be like, but I have to admit that my impression comes purely from Biblical stories. I would definitely enjoy conversing with someone like this, especially if he is intelligent.

I can’t see Jesus being intolerant of differing opinions, beliefs, lifestyles, or even ideologies. He just doesn’t seem to me to be the type who really is overly concerned with what other people think or do. Obviously, I’m ignoring the “god” part of Jesus, but it’s fine to ignore for this thought experiment. Besides, adding divinity just complicates things unnecessarily. Imagine that.

Anyway, I really think if Jesus were around today, he would easily be baffled, and even disgusted at what has happened in his name.

“Christianity?” he might say.
“Who came up with that?” he would inquire.
“And why in the world is everyone celebrating my horrific torture and death?” he would ask.

Of course, I would agree with him and tell him how sorry I am for all of the crosses, churches, and everything else that people have done in order to prop up their beliefs about him. I would let him know that people were just too afraid to think for themselves, so they decided to erect religions and instill fear and guilt into everyone they possibly can, for the past 2,000 years! I’m sure he would be confused, and maybe even irritated.

It’s too bad we don’t have more details about his life and activities. My guess is that he was a cool character. I just wish people would stop pretending they know him. I had best friends about 40 years ago and I can’t remember what they looked like!

Comments»

1. sg - October 23, 2009

Have you heard, he is still alive, he is the only God-Man to have ever walked the earth. There is no pretending i tell you. This is what he tells those that accept him,

“To the world you maybe one person but to me you are the world!”
Jesus

2. jetson - October 25, 2009

I have heard so many things, it’s difficult to sort it all out. This is a thought experiment on my opinion of a real discussion with the human they called Jesus. There is no divinity in my wish, only human discussion.

If some of the Biblical descriptions of Jesus are true, I imagine it would be a very interesting conversation. I’m imagining a very kind, and considerate person. I am not imagining a divine being, who knows that I will burn in hell while he is conversing with me.

🙂


Leave a Reply

