jump to navigation

Am I Fair? October 27, 2009

Posted by jetson in Personal.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

After conversing with some friends of mine, who I consider to be “progressive” Christians, for lack of a better term, I was told that my blogs are not exactly fair and balanced. Those weren’t the exact terms used, but it’s the message I took away from the conversation. After some careful thought, I decided that they may be right. The problem is, I don’t know exactly what to do about it – if anything at all.

On the one hand, it’s my blog. If someone wants to write a fair and balanced blog about religion, they are always free to do so. But on the other hand, am I doing an injustice to having a good conversation by being too militant with my writing? I have felt a sense of movement in my attitude towards religion, so I certainly don’t doubt that I could have gone too far in some respects. I have undoubtedly become less tolerant of unsupported assertions and unfounded claims of knowledge and truth. An opposing view might think that I am not considering their evidence, or that I am simply dismissing it with little to no consideration. I can definitely understand that concern.

I have been immersed in this topic for over one year now, and I do mean immersed! I have read, argued, debated, discussed, and flat out battled against what I consider irrational beliefs on various forums, blogs, and in person. I have heard so many arguments that they are now in full rotation. In other words, I’ve heard them all (though not literally I would guess.) I need to add that I have not had much luck on religious forums because not many of them tolerate non-believers (too much blasphemy involved in the discussions.) However, I am nowhere near fully educated on any of this. I am just scratching the surface of the most basic arguments, and sadly, many of them are simply not well though out. So now what?

If I am to continue engaging in these topics, I know I can learn more. But what can I learn if I don’t believe in any gods? I can learn more about the religions and their gods, and their believers who are convinced beyond a doubt in their beliefs. I have studied western religions at an academic level, but never at a theological level. I don’t intend to go back to school, but I can certainly read more books and opinions from respected theologians. I honestly don’t know what I will find, but I’m hoping that there is a more mature position and understanding than some of the poorly thought out arguments from self-professed god experts on the internet (mostly teen children from the immature writing styles and argument structures.)

So, how will this affect my blog? At this point, I have no readers, so it’s almost pointless to even be concerned. However, the feedback came from a reader, so the point is worth considering. I know there is an audience for the blogs I have already written, but I am likely “preaching to the choir” to those who might agree with me. As for the opposition, I can try harder to engage them in conversation, I can continue to respect them as people, but if I disagree, I cannot be dishonest just to save feelings. The discussion has to occur, but no one has to agree just to be polite. We’ll see how this goes!

Comments»

1. Bert - November 8, 2009

Does this Paul Graham essay shed any further light on the issue for you?

http://www.paulgraham.com/discover.html

Bert


Leave a Reply

