jump to navigation

Are You a Christian? January 4, 2010

Posted by jetson in Personal.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

If you believe that Jesus was the son of God, and is also God, then you are more than likely a Christian. There are billions of Christians in the world today. Because of my religious background, I refer to Christianity more often than other religions. I was once a Christian in the Catholic Church and I was baptized and confirmed, so there is really no denying my official status. According to the Catholic Church, I am still A Christian! Obviously, I have decided not to be a part of the Christian Church, but I’m hardly willing to go through the trouble that it takes to get removed, or as they call it, ex-communicated.

I would like to say that I have no reason to think that all Christians think alike, or that all Christians believe the same things, or that all Christians are anything more than, at the very least, believers in Jesus Christ, the son of God (god of The Bible, of course.) I have more Christian friends than I do friends of other religions, as far as I can tell. I do not have very many atheist friends, as most atheists keep their disbelief to themselves. Most of my friends don’t know that I am now calling myself atheist. The main reason for this is because it doesn’t really come up, and I am exactly the same person I was before I made the claim of my disbelief. I don’t feel it needs to be announced to all of my friends, but at the same time, I’m not going to go out of my way to hide it if it comes up.

So, even though I have chosen to withhold my belief in God, and I am willingly deciding that I may end up burning in hell for all eternity, I am still exactly who I was before I started this blog. The one exception is that I feel very strongly about speaking out against belief systems that directly challenge my freedoms, and my right to believe whatever I want, and my right to associate with anyone I choose, no matter their beliefs. I will not sit by and watch young earth creationists attack the scientific knowledge gained from the hard working people around the world who, by their very efforts, are helping billions of people in various ways as a result. I will not stand by while religious believers try to stamp out my ability to freely speak out against ideas that I don’t agree with. I refuse to allow religious believers to wage bigotry and hatred against homosexuals and their human rights because their god told them it was evil. And I will not sit quietly while some religious believers use their beliefs to attempt to impart their morals on everyone around them.

For the many millions of Christians who are not actively engaged in those activities, please do your part to speak out against those that do, or find another church or denomination. As well, don’t allow anyone to misrepresent the messages of compassion that Jesus was spreading when he walked the earth. Help the rest of the world by allowing others to disagree, and to find their own beliefs, or their own ways of dealing with their lives and the lives of their families and communities without interference from anyone. This world needs more tolerance of opposing ideologies and beliefs – there is literally no other way it can work.

If my blog is offensive to you as a Christian, then I suggest you point it out to me in the comments, and allow me to respond. Or, if you are one of those religious believers that I am speaking directly to, then stand up for your beliefs and let me know that as well. If you believe homosexuals are sinners bound to burn for all eternity, then say so. If I call it bigotry, then at least you were bold enough to say it yourself and I know exactly who I am dealing with.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

