jump to navigation

Nobody Has All The Answers January 5, 2010

Posted by jetson in Personal.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I don’t know how else to say it. Humans are amazing creatures, and we have collectively done some amazing things throughout history. But we are far short of having all of the answers about anything – there is just no way to claim any other position on this, as far as I can tell. Science has done a great job in discovering many things about our world from the most microscopic, to the farthest reaches of space. But, it is clear we have a lot more to discover. In fact, we will likely go extinct as a species before we discover it all!

But there are also questions that are more philosophical, as opposed to scientific. For those questions, humans tend to follow the ideas and answers that suit them best. There are potentially as many unique philosophies as there are humans! But even the big philosophical questions, like “why are we here” or “what is the meaning of life”, are far from solved. Those questions, and many more like them, are not scientific questions. They are, by their nature, anyone’s guess. And so it is with gods and religions, I think.

I blog about religion and gods. I made a conscious decision to wait for real evidence and proof of a god before simply accepting it. As for everything else that I accept or believe, I’m no different than anyone. If I read about a scientific discovery, I choose whether to accept it based on the evidence and whether it makes sense to me. Sometimes, I have no idea how I can come to a conclusion, simply because I am ignorant on the details required to truly understand it. I can still choose to accept it, but I don’t have to, nor do I always accept what science discovers.

We can no more answer the god question with science than any other questions like why we are here, or what is our purpose. Gods leave nothing empirical, measurable, touchable, or repeatable for us to use the scientific method to discover. Gods have come and gone from human history with such variety and frequency, that we are only left with their remains after the societies that followed them are long gone, or they are replaced by a new god. Even in modern times, the fact that billions of people, adhering to their god beliefs with fierce devotion and commitment, cannot answer the question, “Is there a god”? So far, no one gets to claim that answer as solved, no matter what they believe.

There are no truths espoused by any particular group of humans that we can all agree on. While that makes none of them true or false, it also makes all of them true or false, which means nothing. No one has all of the answers. Period.

Comments»

1. grovechurch - January 6, 2010

Do you only believe in things that are “empirical, measurable, touchable, or repeatable?”

jetson - January 6, 2010

Well, by asking your question, you pointed out an incomplete sentence that I have now edited – thanks! The original sentence, copied and pasted below was:

Gods leave nothing empirical, measurable, touchable, or repeatable for us to use the scientific to discover.

And now reads:

Gods leave nothing empirical, measurable, touchable, or repeatable for us to use the scientific method to discover.

Back to your question, those words are examples of methods of scientific discovery. The sentence was intended to say that we can’t use these scientific methods to prove that a god exists. Do you have some examples of scientific methods to discover a god?

2. Justin - January 6, 2010

(This is “grovechurch”. I was accidentally posting on my church account earlier.)

Emperical can be defined as “derived from experiment and observation rather than theory” Do you only believe in things that can be shown emperically?

If you need to observe for the scientific method, then obviously an invisible deity can not be directly measured in that way.

“I believe in Christianity as I believe that the Sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.”
– C.S. Lewis


Leave a Reply

