jump to navigation

My Last Post? May 19, 2011

Posted by jetson in Personal.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I feel compelled to throw out some final thoughts, since the end of the world is upon us! Yep, May 21, 2011, according to this Pastor. Oh well, so much for my plans to become a rock star.

Anyway, of course I don’t believe anything this nut has stated, and neither do most of the Christians I personally know. Weird though, wouldn’t it seem that all Christians should heed this particular warning? I mean, if they know Jesus will return, and the world will be destroyed, how do they know it won’t be this Saturday? What if this pastor has a luck guess? It’s not entirely impossible. I digress.

So, what would you do if you knew the world was ending? I haven’t given it that much thought, but here are some of my ideas. I would definitely want to be with my closest family members, currently my wife and young son. I would definitely eat some really great, and not too healthy meals. I would play my guitar as loud as my amplifier will go! What else?

Let’s see, Giving away money or possessions would be a waste of effort really. But it might be fun to visit someplace I have never been to – assuming I had enough time. The more I think through this, the more I end up just being with my family, and maybe closest friends if possible. I’m somewhat of a recluse socially. I would rather be at home than running around in my community.

I know that the world is not going to end this Saturday, and I really do wish that people would never take this stuff so seriously. Even if you have a strong belief that there is a plan to end the world as we know it, there is simply no reason to spend your life fearing it, or hoping for it. We should be living our lives as though we have one chance to do it, and to do it with compassion and freedom to explore our aliveness.

If you are a believer, keep believing, but don’t worry about this nonsense!

Comments»

1. jetson - May 21, 2011

Well – it appears that the Judgement day did not come as expected. I can’t believe that Christian was so wrong! I mean, after all, he got his information straight from the good book!

Oh well…next!

2. jetson - May 24, 2011

And now, Harold Camping has resurfaced, and is now saying that March 21 was a “spiritual judgment” from God. So now we have to wait until October for the world to end. The only thing that comes to mind is that Camping is an ass-hat.

I heard someone on MSNBC say that Camping has 72 million in assets. That does not sound like someone who knew the world would end last Saturday. And I’m not at all surprised.


Leave a Reply

